The 2nd Week and a 1st Month

We wrapped up our second week of riding Sunday, and while our first month wasn’t a full month we are now starting our second month of our new lifestyle. I have found that as this becomes more everyday I care less about the number of miles we have ridden. That we will each ride an average of 40+ miles each week for work is a given. During the summer break I will have to do some extra daily riding to keep in shape for the fall.

By the end of the second week, muscles were less stiff, blisters were healing up nicely. We have both adapted well, I will be honest week one we both had moments where we would have driven if the cars had been in the drive.

Sunday and Monday have become shopping day’s since we are both home on those days.

060213172516 060213172629

Sunday we took our time and spent the day out and about. After lunch we rode down to City Bicycle Works picked up some spare inner tubes, liners and slime, for our bikes so we will be ready when that first flat happens.

100_3736

We also picked up seat cables, so our bike seats won’t be so easy for someone to walk off with. Charles purchased some handle bar extenders that bring the grip up to a higher point when he’s riding.

Afterwards we stopped at The Plum Cafe and had brownies and cold drinks, my treat.

Then we were off again, this time our errands took us to Old Sacramento first stop Evangeline’s. Over Memorial Day weekend I had spotted some LED light strands that they sell, but it was way to crowded for proper “take your time” shopping. This trip we purchased two strands of lights, one for each of us.

100_3728 100_3729

I wanted green, for my helmet, Charles selected red for his strand. He immediately attached his to his backpack.

100_3730 100_3731

I did film a few seconds of the lights blinking, sadly I don’t know how to convert from a .mov format to a format that wordpress will allow, so I’ll add them later through facebook, that is if they play so far it’s not looking good for the video. I’m also having trouble finding footage of the ones we bought on the web. 😦

Our second stop was at the Practical Cycle, they have a couple of Burley cargo trailers for bikes that we are seriously considering purchasing. With the Travoy being the leading contender.

We wrapped up Sunday with a relaxing evening.

Monday when I got home from work it was off to the store this time for some cat essentials; cat litter and cat food, plus a few other items.

060313194218 060313194249

One of the items we picked up was some hot pink Duct tape for me to use with my lights and helmet.

100_3742 100_3741

The lights are not bright in the full sun, in a dark room or at night is another story. Possibly the best $14 spent for 6 feet of wired led’s that can be flexed and shaped how you want them. I do need to cover the battery pack before it rains next fall/winter since it isn’t water proof but the lights are.

3 thoughts on “The 2nd Week and a 1st Month

Leave a comment